Apart from Sheikh Hasina, who is staying at Modi’s swearing-in ceremony

Narendra Modi is going to become the Prime Minister of India for the third time in a row. According to local media reports, he is going to take oath on Sunday (June 9). And foreign heads of state are going to come to this swearing-in ceremony. Top leaders from South Asia have been invited to the swearing-in ceremony, reflecting the Indian government’s ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy.

It is known that Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe will be present at Modi’s swearing-in ceremony. The Indian Prime Minister spoke to both of them on the phone on Wednesday (June 5). Sheikh Hasina is scheduled to go on a state visit to India next month. Many feel that the presence of the Prime Minister of Bangladesh at the swearing-in ceremony there this month is quite significant.

The Sri Lankan government has said that President Ranil Wickremesinghe has accepted Narendra Modi’s invitation. The Prime Minister of Bangladesh has also confirmed his presence. It is said that Sheikh Hasina will reach Delhi a day before the event. On the other hand, the heads of state of Bhutan, Nepal and Maldives have also been officially invited.

However, the serious question that has arisen this time is whether the President or the Prime Minister of Pakistan will be invited or not? The Pakistan government is repeatedly giving the message of restoring relations with India. So it’s no surprise that some of Pakistan’s top leadership is invited to the swearing-in ceremony.

In 2014, Narendra Modi invited Nawaz Sharif to his first swearing-in ceremony. The then Pakistani Prime Minister also defended the invitation.

Source: NDTV