Nitish Kumar’s party won 12 seats and got 2 ministries

Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United (JDU) is set to get two ministries in Narendra Modi’s third government. The party has proposed the names of two of its senior leaders as possible ministers. They are – Lalan Singh and Ram Nath Tagore. This information was reported by the Indian media NDTV on Saturday (June 8).

Lalan Singh was elected to Lok Sabha from Munger constituency in Bihar. And Ram Nath Tagore is currently a member of the Rajya Sabha. His father is Bharat Ratna recipient Karpuri Tagore.

Sources said the decision on the new cabinet was taken at a meeting of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

In the meeting, Nitish Kumar’s party, which won 12 seats in the election, demanded two ministerial posts. Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP, another key alliance partner, has sought four ministerial posts and the post of Speaker of Parliament. TDP won 16 seats in the election.

The results announced on June 4 showed that the BJP won the maximum number of seats but did worse than expected. The party got a single majority in the previous two elections under the leadership of Modi, but this time the party failed to reach the magic figure of 272 seats. They won 240 seats, ie BJP still needs 32 seats to get majority.

However, NDA won 293 seats as a coalition. Among these, only TDP and JDU have significant seats after BJP. As a result, Chandrababu Naidu and Nitish Kumar have become the so-called ‘kingmakers’. Other members who get nominal seats are also getting importance.

However, the alliance partners had no chance to negotiate as the BJP won landslides in the 2014 and 2019 elections. They had to be satisfied with what Narendra Modi gave them. But this time the partners increased their demands by understanding the opportunity.

Moreover, ever since it was learned that the BJP is not getting a single majority this time, there have been rumors that Nitish Kumar’s JDU may join the India Alliance over old ally Congress. Several opposition leaders, including West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, hinted that Nitish Kumar might be approached.

But this leader of Bihar poured water on all the speculations last Thursday. It is known that Modi has received written support from both Nitish Kumar and Chandrababu Naidu.

Besides, the BJP leadership also reminded that Nitish Kumar had walked out of the India Alliance due to the delay in naming him as the convener.

Next Sunday (June 9) Narendra Modi will take oath as the Prime Minister for the third consecutive term.