Surprise in Modi’s cabinet, many powerful leaders are missing

Narendra Modi’s new cabinet may have several surprises. Even if the major ministries are under their control, the BJP may leave several important posts to partners. And for that, several powerful members of the previous cabinet may be dropped.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and part of his new cabinet are going to take oath on Sunday (June 9) evening. Many speculations have started before that. Who is staying and who is leaving the Modi 3.0 cabinet?

According to sources, Indian media NDTV says that former Union Ministers Smriti Irani, Anurag Thakur and Narayan Rane are not getting a place in Modi’s new cabinet.

Smriti Irani was the women and child development minister in Modi’s second term government. Five years ago, he lost to Rahul Gandhi himself in Amethi, a Congress stronghold in Uttar Pradesh. But in this year’s election, this powerful leader of BJP lost to Congress candidate Kishori Lal Sharma by more than 150,000 votes.

Another BJP leader Anurag Thakur, however, won the election from Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh. He was Minister of Sports and Information and Broadcasting of India in the last government. Sources say that Anurag will no longer play a central role in Narendra Modi’s coalition government.

Narayan Rane was the Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises in Modi’s second term government. He is also not getting a place in the new government. However, this BJP leader has won from Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg constituency in Maharashtra.

It is heard that BJP leader Rajeev Chandrasekhar, who narrowly lost to Congress’ Shashi Tharoor, may also be dropped from the new cabinet.

Who is staying?

BJP leaders likely to be inducted into Narendra Modi’s third term cabinet are Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, S Jaishankar, Nitin Gadkari, Mansukh Mandaviya, Piyush Goyal, Ashwini Vaishnab, Dharmendra Pradhan, Bhupendra Yadav, Prahlad Joshi and Kiren Rijiju.

Other party leaders of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the list of potential ministers include HD Kumaraswamy, Jayant Chowdhury, Pratap Yadav, Ram Mohan Naidu, Sudesh Mahato and Lallan Singh.