Polling in 19 upazilas postponed due to Cyclone Rimal on Sunday

Voting in 19 upazila parishads of the country postponed due to the cyclone will be held on Sunday (June 9). Polling will continue uninterrupted from 8 am to 4 pm. The Election Commission (EC) has completed all preparations to make the elections peaceful.

Director of Public Relations Department of EC. Shariful Alam said that the third phase of polling in these 19 upazilas was supposed to be held on May 29. The commission postponed the election due to Cyclone Rimal. Out of this, voting will be done on EVMs in Mathbaria upazila of Pirojpur and on ballot papers in remaining 18 upazilas.

EC said that 330 candidates are contesting in 19 upazilas. Among them, there are 119 on the post of chairman, 132 on the post of vice chairman and 79 on the post of female vice chairman. There are 1 thousand 181 centers in these upazilas and 3 million 46 thousand 88 voters. Ballots reached 179 centers on Saturday. Ballots will be sent to 1,002 centers on Sunday morning.

The upazilas where voting is on Sunday: Khaliyajuri of Netrakona; Sharankhola, Morelganj and Mongla of Bagerhat; Khulna Coir, Paikgacha and Figs; Gournadi and Agailjhara of Barisal; Patuakhali Sadar, Mirzaganj and Dumki of Patuakhali; Mathbaria of Pirojpur; Tajumuddin and Lalmohan of Bhola; Rajapur and Kanthalia of Jhalkathi and Bamna and Patharghata upazilas of Barguna.