Voting is underway in 19 upazilas suspended due to cyclone Rimal

Voting is underway in 19 upazila councils of the country, which was suspended due to the cyclone. Out of this, voting is being done by EVM in one upazila and ballot paper in remaining 18 upazilas.

Voting started at 8 am on Sunday (June 9) and will continue non-stop till 4 pm.

Director of Public Relations Department of EC. Shariful Alam said on Saturday, ‘In these 19 upazilas, the third phase of polling was supposed to be held on May 29. The commission postponed the election due to Cyclone Rimal. Out of this, voting will be done on EVMs in Mathbaria upazila of Pirojpur and on ballot papers in remaining 18 upazilas.

EC said that 330 candidates are contesting in 19 upazilas. Among them, there are 119 on the post of chairman, 132 on the post of vice chairman and 79 on the post of female vice chairman. There are 1 thousand 181 centers in these upazilas and 3 million 46 thousand 88 voters. Ballots reached 179 centers on Saturday. Ballots were sent to 1,002 centers on Sunday morning.

Upazilas where voting is going on
Khaliajuri in Bagerhat, Sharankhola in Bagerhat, Koira, Paikgacha and Dumuria in Khulna, Gournadi and Agailjhara in Barisal, Patuakhali Sadar in Patuakhali, Mathbaria in Pirojpur, Tajumuddin and Lalmohan in Bhola, Rajapur and Kanthalia in Jhalkathi and Bam in Barguna No and Patharghata Upazila.